The Seven Chakras – Energy in Color

Art and Art History Class

As we know, there is a relationship between light and energy. We know that the
light from the sun vitalizes everything – plants, minerals, animals. Through
photosynthesis, the energy of the sun is stored in plants, which are eaten by
humans and animals. In this way the light energy of the sun is passed on and
used as energy in our bodies.

If you look closely into a raindrop or dew drop and light is shining on it at a
particular angle, you will see the seven colors.

According to an ancient system of yoga, our bodies have 7 places of light energy,
which correlate to the 7 colors of the light spectrum. These color energy centers
in our bodies are called the chakras. The word Chakra translates as “wheel” or
“plate” in Sanskrit. These 7 chakras are centered in the middle of our bodies and
work together – they are connected – and the flow of energy travels up and down
the 7 chakras.

Each of the 7 chakras has a mission or “assignment” which needs to be fulfilled
for a happy, balanced life.

Red – Root Chakra – survival, food, clothing, shelter
Orange – Sacral Chakra – creativity, feelings, sexuality
Yellow – Solar Plexus Chakra – the intellect and action
Green – Heart Chakra – healing, balance, tranquility, love
Blue – Throat Chakra – communication
Indigo – Brow or Third Eye Chakra – imagination, opening of consciousness
Violet – Crown Chakra – spirituality, oneness with the universe

This class will explore the fascinating science and stunning color of the Seven
Chakras. We will discuss the presence of the Chakras in our own lives and the
effects of specific colors on our daily consciousness. This class will start with a
fascinating tour of beautiful, colorful works of art in the Nelson-Atkins Museum
collection. We will experience the effects of color as a small group and learn
some incredible art history in the process.

Then, utilizing unique techniques with different paint mediums and beautiful
pattern design, we will create a gorgeous art piece of our own with the seven
colors of the Chakras. This artwork can be framed and used in a domestic setting
as a visual focus for beauty, meditation and contemplation.

No prior experience in art is required.

Adult Class
Saturday, January 25
10 am – 2:00 pm

Location: Nelson-Atkins Museum and Livestock Exchange Building
Subject: The Seven Chakras
Art Project: Painted, seven-part art piece with the seven colors of the Chakras.

Date and Location Details:
Saturday, January 25, 10am – 2:00pm
10:00 am – meet at Nelson-Atkins Museum inside front entrance (outside of

We will spend an hour at the museum with my guided tour and discussion of
color in modern and contemporary art.

11:30 – 2:00 Meet at my art studio where we will discuss our observations and
then create a personal, art piece of the Seven Chakras.
1600 Genessee Street, Suite 512
(Livestock Exchange Building)

For more information and directions please call, text or email:
Nina Irwin


Jan 25 2020


10:00 am - 2:00 pm




Nelson-Atkins Museum
4525 Oak St, Kansas City, MO 64111

Location 2

Livestock Exchange Building
1600 Genessee Street, Suite 512
QR Code 816.289.5724 copyright
/* ]]> */